Who’s Who at the Connecticut Open: Part 6

By Nicholas McCarvel

Days away from the Connecticut Open presented by United Technologies, the final batch of Who’s Who features three top 10 players that each have had standout years in their own rights. Here, a look at those stars, all of whom have made an appearance in a Grand Slam final this year.


Eugenie Bouchard, CAN
Rank: 8 Age: 20

It’s been a breakout year for Bouchard, the 20-year-old Canadian who made the semifinals at both the Australian and French Opens before making an historic run to the Wimbledon final. The world No. 8 has a 36-15 record this year and is now one of the players to beat on the WTA Tour thanks to her never-say-die attitude on court. Bouchard has registered wins over Venus Williams, Jelena Jankovic and Ana Ivanovic among others this season, and won her first title in Nurnberg in May. Bouchard will make her debut at the Connecticut Open this year, a tournament she said she’s heard is a great event.

Hear More from Genie: Bouchard Q&A


Petra Kvitova, CZE
Rank: 4 Age: 24

Kvitova comes back to Connecticut as the defending finalist here, but more notably as the reigning Wimbledon winner. The 24-year-old Czech player repeated at the All England Club just last month having first triumphed at the game’s most famous major in 2011. The hard-hitting lefty has 12 career titles, her Wimbledon win this year being her lone triumph in 2014. In New Haven, she achieved a career best with a victory here in 2012. This year marks her fourth trip to the Connecticut Tennis Center at Yale.

Hear More from Petra: Kvitova Q&A


Simona Halep, ROU
Rank: 2 Age: 22

Halep has had a historic 12 months in many respects, and the 22 year old arrives in New Haven with her highest-ever ranking at No. 2. The Romanian has won eight career titles, all of which have come in the last 15 months, including her run here in Connecticut last year, where she beat Kvitova in the final. In that magical spell, Halep has wins over almost every big name in tennis, including Bouchard, Sabine Lisicki, Jelena Jankovic, Ana Ivanovic, Sam Stosur and Caroline Wozniacki. Halep will try to be the first player to repeat as champion here since Wozniacki did so in 2011, having won in 2010 (as well as the two years prior).

Hear more from Simona: Halep Q&A

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: