5 Minutes With… Andy Roddick

Winston-Salem Open - Day 2
(c) Greg Forwerck, Getty Images

CO: What has been your favorite part about retirement and what do you miss the most about being on Tour?
Roddick: I’ve enjoyed not having to be on a schedule for the first year. During the second year I started with FOX, and I’ve been very busy. I definitely enjoyed the little break, but I like being a little busy. The thing I miss most is being in the locker room with the guys. I don’t miss the travel, at all. But I definitely miss the friendships I have on Tour.

CO: What are the top three most memorable moments from your career?
Roddick: One of them is with James Blake, winning the Davis Cup in 2007. Finishing No. 1 was a big landmark because you can’t really change that, and also one of the most fun weeks I’ve ever had was leading up to my final US Open, after announcing I would retire. I was able to look into the stands and not to be so focused all the time. I could actually enjoy it a little bit more, so it was a memorable week for me.

CO: What’s the coolest thing you’ve done since you’ve stopped playing professionally?
Roddick: It’s hard to even choose! I’ve had more time to go on golf trips with buddies, which I couldn’t do before, and spur of the moment trips with my wife. I think the coolest thing is being able to say ‘yes’ to things, which you can’t always do when you’re playing.

CO: You faced Blake this weekend in a World Team Tennis match, defeating him 5-3. Now, you’ll have play him in front of his hometown crowd. Any strategies going in?
Roddick: When we played Team Tennis, we were asked about our strategies and James summed it up pretty well. He said we’ve played and practiced against each other so many times that their will be zero secrets out there. He knows my game backwards, and I know his game well. It just comes down to execution. The crowd will be in his back pocket, which will help, but we’ll have a good time.

CO: Speaking of World Team Tennis, you’re also a part owner. In your role, what are you looking to accomplish?
Roddick: I wanted to stay in tennis on some level, and World Team Tennis allows for that. I can still play every summer, which I certainly enjoy. I think the biggest thing is to have strong ownership. We moved a couple of franchises around last offseason and it seems to have worked well. We need enthusiastic owners who love tennis, and for me it’s just about connecting the dots. You want guys who believe in the league and enjoy being around the team, and you want to sell them on the experience. I’ve also been very excited to bring a franchise to my hometown of Austin, Texas.

CO: You played in the 2013 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. What was the most memorable part of that experience?
Roddick: It was pretty fun. James and I played in the same group, and we shared a house there for a week. It was a great excuse for us to catch up. I played it a year before, but James was still on Tour, so he didn’t get a chance to play. We played with a couple of Pro golf buddies of ours. It was a really fun foursome. James made the cut, but I didn’t so I owe him one [Laughter].

CO: What’s it like to have made the switch from a pro athlete to working in television?
Roddick: I get that question a lot, and basically you’re on the other side of the media now. I view it a little differently. Most of the time I try to be the athlete’s voice through the media, as opposed to being combative. You have to learn where cameras are and how to get out of segments, so that takes a little practice, but at the core it’s still just talking sports. My mindset of most topics we cover is still that of an athlete, and I certainly respect the process of being a pro athlete. My rule is if an athlete was sitting across from me, I would look him in the eye and say the same thing. Then, it’s fair game.

CO: What’s your favorite fast food meal? If not fast food, what is your favorite meal to make at home?
Roddick: Is Chipotle fast food? If Chipotle qualifies, that’s my jam.

CO: What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?
Roddick: I like a good glass of wine. That’s something I didn’t do at all as a player. I don’t do it much because I work nights in Los Angeles, but I definitely enjoy it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

