5 Minutes With…Caroline Wozniacki

SB2_3227CO: Obviously you’ve had such great results in the past at New Haven, can you talk a little bit about what it’s like coming back to the tournament this year?

Wozniacki: It’s one of my favorite tournaments of the year and I love going back. I have had so many great memories on center court and the fans are amazing so I’m excited to be back.

CO: Do you feel like it’s a nice little calm before the New York storm?

Wozniacki: It definitely is. I feel like I’ll be in my own little bubble and work on a few things and just get ready for the US Open and this is a nice place to do that.

CO: So you’ve won four times here in New Haven, that’s a pretty good record, can you pick out one best memory?

Wozniacki: Hm, well I have a lot of good memories. But winning the first time was special because it was my second tournament win on the Tour and it was also my first big one and I beat quite a few much higher ranked players than myself and that was special.

CO: Well you’ve done a lot of fun things here…

Wozniacki: Yes! I’ve done A LOT of fun things! I remember playing tennis in the Yale Bowl, and they made this huge court and I had this huge racket and it was so cool.

CO: So New Haven is famous for their pizza, have you tried it?

Wozniacki: I actually have never tried it, can you imagine?!

CO: When you do have pizza, what are your favorite toppings?

Wozniacki: I just go for the plain ham and cheese and tomato sauce and sometimes I put on pineapple. Pretty simple.

CO: Yale is obviously a very well known school, if you could pick one favorite subject of yours what would it be?

Wozniacki: I used to love math, I know it’s crazy. But math was one of my favorites. I thought it was very simple. There was always one right result and I liked that.

CO: You come from a family of athletes, what’s your favorite sport outside of tennis?

Wozniacki: I love soccer, or futbol as its called! I also love watching swimming and gymnastics. In general I am very into sports. Oh, and basketball! I love basketball.

CO: If you had to choose one other sport to compete it, what would it be?

Wozniacki: Hmm…I would probably be best at swimming. I used to be a good swimmer. I had to choose between tennis and swimming.

CO: Lately you’ve been posting some pictures going running, what’s a good mix of songs that you like to listen too?

Wozniacki: I love to listen to Rihanna, Jason Derulo, Beyoncé, Calvin Harris, Bruno Mars and Adele. I know I’m kind of crazy but I actually like to listen to slower songs sometimes when I run. It just depends what mood I’m in.

CO: So are you more of an album person or do you like to mix it up?

Wozniacki: Definitely a mix, I like to mix it up!

CO: A couple of times when you won in New Haven you were ranked No. 1 in the world, what was the feeling like at that point in your career?

Wozniacki: Well obviously it’s something that I’ve always dreamed of. So to achieve that at such a young age was amazing and something that I definitely really appreciated and took in. Not many people can say they have been number one in the world so that was kind of cool.

CO: You’re a big ice cream fan…favorite flavor?

Wozniacki: Cookies n’ cream!

CO: Toppings?

Wozniacki: I like caramel and whipped cream. That’s my guilty pleasure.

CO: So no frozen yogurt?

Wozniacki: No frozen yogurt, it’s too healthy.

CO: Gelato?

Wozniacki: I love gelato. I’d probably go with strawberry for gelato though.

 

Thanks Caroline!

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

