Getting to Know: Petra Kvitova

Defending New Haven Open Champion Petra Kvitova is currently in England attempting to regain the Wimbledon title she won in 2011. The World No. 8 took time out of her training to answer some questions about her off-court life and her eagerness to return to New Haven in August.

How do you feel about coming back to compete in the 2013 New Haven Open? 

I am really excited. I had such a great time there last year and it’s always special to arrive at a tournament as defending champion. The tournament staff were so nice there and I like that it’s relaxed before heading to New York, which can be a bit crazy 😉

What was your best memory about your run to the New Haven Open title in 2012? 

Tough question. Every match was a battle and I remember the final against Kirilenko when I fought a lot. Against Lucie I played really well, that was probably my best match there.

What about the New Haven Open makes it a special event for you? 

I would definitely say the quiet atmosphere, everything is close and easy, the lovely tournament director Anne – and great facilities. So everything really!

SB1_4817

New Haven is known for its great restaurants, where are some of your favorite places to eat in town?

Well my favourite food is sushi and I remember going to a great sushi restaurant near the Study Hotel – I think it was called Miya’s.

From your Facebook Page and brand new website, we see that you have been having some fun off the court this year! When you get free time, what have you been doing to let loose and relax? 

Oh, when I am home I liked to spend time with my niece and nephew, I like to go and watch some live sports – like football and ice hockey – I go to the cinema and of course I love to shop, like every girl!

What music have you been listening to lately? What books have you been reading? 

Pink’s latest CD;  Headhunters by Jo Nesbo

In some of your most passionate moments on court (like after you crack a big forehand winner), you say “pojd.” Can you explain what that means? 

Haha! Yes, it just means ‘come on’!

What are your goals for the rest of the WTA season and the 2013 New Haven Open?

I don’t really like setting specific goals as I focus more on my performance on court and how I am feeling. If I am playing good tennis I know I can win matches, so I try to stay healthy and just fight hard to win every match I play.

New+Haven+Open+At+Yale+Day+9+JEH7Xpb4hYrx

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

